Newbie question - inexpensive scanner for North San Diego

This is the place to discuss generalized scanner questions and information for San Diego County. Whether it's radios, antennas, or other general scanner related topics, you can talk about it here.
LokalYokal

Newbie question - inexpensive scanner for North San Diego

Post by LokalYokal »

Hi,

I'm new to scanners and am not clear on some of the terms used, so please excuse my basic questions.

I'm looking for a very, very inexpensive scanner for use at home (either a base or a hand-held with a power adapter) to listen to Escondido-area fire and police.

So here's some of my questions:

1) From what I've read on ScanDiego.com, I will need a digital, trunking scanner. Is this correct?

2) What scanner would you recommend? Keep in mind that I'm on a very limited budget and I don't need any bells and whistles....just something that works. Used is best for me since I'd probably save a bunch.

3) I've seen digital trunking, dual trunking, and triple trunking. What does this mean and what does it have to do with elephants? :wink:

Thanks!
Brian

Post by Brian »

Escondido Police, Escondido Park Rangers/public works Needs a digital scanner.

Escondido Fire is mostly Analog so any old scanner will work.
Escondido has a digital TAC talkgroup.

Uniden Scanners (396 or 996)($520) will last over 6years or maybe longer. I think this is the best scanner to get for the money.

RadioShack 96 or 2096 might only last about 5 years (due to rebanding in 800mhz range) *note every so often those two goes on sale for $349(I think)

All North County Fire dept will work with the Radio Shack Pro97 ($149)
(San Marcos,Vista,Oceanside,Carlsbad,Rancho Santa Fe,Encinitas,SolanaBeach,Elfin Forest,- fire dept is dispatch by 'Northcom' dispatch center.)
to listen to the dispatch and tacs and commands. but wont listen to police dispatch.

Look at this page (Digital Talkgroups is over 30000 range)